Venugopal V. Veeravalli received the Ph.D. degree in 1992 from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the M.S. degree in 1987 from Carnegie-Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, and the B. Tech. degree in 1985 from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, (Silver Medal Honors), all in Electrical Engineering.

He joined University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2000, where he is currently the Henry Magnuski Professor in the ECE Department. He is also affiliated with the Department of Statistics, Coordinated Science Laboratory , and Information Trust Institute. He served as a Director of the Illinois Center for Wireless Systems (ICWS) during 2007-2015. He served as a program director for communications research at the U.S. National Science Foundation in Arlington, VA during 2003-2005. He was assistant professor in the ECE department at Cornell University during 1996-2000.

Professor Veeravalli's research interests include machine learning, statistical signal processing, detection and estimation theory, information theory, and stochastic control, with applications to data science, sensor networks, cyberphysical systems, and wireless communications.

He is a Fellow of the IEEE and has been on the Board of Governors of the IEEE Information Theory Soceity. He has been an Associate Editor for Detection and Estimation for the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory, and for the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications . He served as a Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Signal Processing Society during 2010-2011.

Dr. Veeravalli maintains strong ties with industry. He has served as consultant on a variety of industry projects, particularly in the wireless communications area. He has also taught short courses and tutorials at companies on various topics in communications.

Dr. Veeravalli is co-recipient of the 1996 IEEE Browder J. Thompson Award, an award given annually to an outstanding paper by authors under the age of 30 selected from all the publications of the IEEE. The award winning paper: "A Sequential Procedure for Multihypothesis Testing," IEEE Transactions on Information Theory. He also co-authored a paper with Jean-Francois Chamberland that won the 2006 Young Author Best Paper Award from the IEEE Signal Processing Society.

In 1998 he received a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation, and was one of the twenty CAREER awardees from all the disciplines of the NSF to receive the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) from the White House in 1999.

Among the other awards he has received for research and teaching are the Michael Tien Excellence in Teaching Award by the College of Engineering, Cornell University in 1999, the Beckman Associate Fellowship at the Center for Advanced Study, UIUC in 2002, and the Xerox Award for faculty research from the College of Engineering, UIUC in 2003, and the Abraham Wald Prize in Sequential Analysis in 2016. He has also been listed multiple times on the List of Teachers Ranked as Excellent by their Students at UIUC.